News Articles

NGS logo 2019 Horiz 400px




March 8, 2018


USF & NRA Member and Friends


Marion P. Hammer


USF Executive Director


NRA Past President

House Republicans Joined Anti-gun Democrats to Pass Gun Control
But Some Stood Strong for Our Rights

Yesterday, in a display of bullying and coercion, the Florida House voted 67 to 50 to pass a bill that violates Second Amendment rights and punishes law-citizens for the actions of a deranged murderer who killed 17 people after Florida officials and the FBI repeatedly refused to intervene.
However, 19 House Republicans stayed faithful to their oath of office and upheld their sworn duty to “support, protect, and defend the Constitution.”  These courageous patriots stood strong and voted against the bill because of the gun control provisions.  They, like we do, support hardening our schools and fixing our broken mental health system, but do not believe those important goals should be held hostage to gun control.

Those courageous House members who remained true to their word are:

Cord Byrd (R-Jacksonville Beach)
Matt Caldwell (R-Lehigh Acres)
Bryon Donalds (R-Naples)
Brad Drake (R-DeFuniak Springs)
Jay Fant (R-Jacksonville)
Jason Fischer (R-Jacksonville)
Julio Gonzalez (R-Venice)
Erin Grall (R-Vero Beach)
James “JW” Grant (R-Tampa)
Blaise Ingoglia (R-Spring Hill)
Clay Ingram (R-Pensacola)
Stan McClain (R-Ocala)
Mike Miller (R-Orlando)
Mel Ponder (R-Ft. Walton Beach)
Ross Spano (R-Riverview)
Charlie Stone (R-Ocala)
Frank White (R-Pensacola)
Jayer Williamson (R-Pace)
Clay Yarborough (R-Jacksonville)

Please thank them for standing strong for our Second Amendment rights in the face of bullying and coercion.

NRA-ILA: Institute for Legislative Action






© 2016 National Rifle Association of America, Institute For Legislative Action. To contact NRA-ILA call 800-392-8683. Address: 11250 Waples Mill Road Fairfax, Virginia 22030.
   Thank you!